Choose your language



Belgium is a federal state divided into three regions: Dutch-speaking Flanders in the north, francophone Wallonia in the south and Brussels, the bilingual capital, where French and Dutch share official status. There is also a small German-speaking minority in the eastern part of the country. Belgium’s varied landscape includes: 67 kilometres of sea coast and flat coastal plains along the North Sea, a central plateau and the rolling hills and forests of the Ardennes region in the south.

The most important sectors of Belgium’s economy in 2012 were public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (22.8 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (19.9 %) and industry (15.9 %).

Belgium’s main export partners are Germany, France and the Netherlands while its main import partners are the Netherlands, Germany and France.




Year of EU entry: 1957

Capital: Brussels

Geographical size: 30 528.0 km2

Population: 11 094 850

Currency: Member of the eurozone since 1999 (€)

Schengen area: Member of the Schengen area since 1985

Facebook YouTube Google Translate Google Maps