Choose your language



Croatia borders Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia and has been an independent country since 1991. The country has a long and dramatic coastline with the Adriatic Sea, in which the country has over 1 000 islands and islets, of which just 48 are permanently inhabited.

The most important sectors of Croatia’s economy in 2012 were industry (20.9 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (20.1 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (16.0 %).

Croatia’s main export partners are Italy, Bosnia & Herzegovina and Germany while its main import partners are Italy, Germany and Russia.




Year of EU entry: 2013

Capital: Zagreb

Geographical size: 87 661.0 km2

Population: 4 275 984

Currency: Croatian Kuna HRK

Schengen area: Not a member of Schengen

Facebook YouTube Google Translate Google Maps