Choose your language



Situated in the north-eastern part of the Mediterranean Sea and to the south of Turkey, Cyprus is the largest island in the eastern Mediterranean as well as being the third smallest country in the EU, after Malta and Luxembourg. Cyprus joined the EU as a de facto divided island but the whole of Cyprus is EU territory. Turkish Cypriots are EU citizens as they are citizens of an EU country – the Republic of Cyprus – even if they live in a part of Cyprus not under government control.

The most important sectors of Cyprus’s economy in 2012 were wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (23.5 %) public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (21.8 %) and real estate (11.5 %).

Cyprus’s main export partners are Greece, the UK and the US, while its main import partners are Greece, Israel and the UK.




Year of EU entry: 2004

Capital: Nicosia

Geographical size: 9251.0 km²

Population: 862 011

Currency: Member of the eurozone since 2008 (€)

Schengen area: Not a member of Schengen

Facebook YouTube Google Translate Google Maps