Choose your language



Slovakia is a country in eastern central Europe and is bordered by the Czech Republic and Austria to the west, Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east and Hungary to the south. The Carpathian Mountains extend across the northern half of the country and include the High Tatras, which provide a natural watershed between Slovakia and Poland. In the southern half of the country are the lowlands of the Danube plain.

The most important sectors of Slovakia’s economy in 2012 were industry (27.0 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (22.3 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (13.3 %).

Slovakia’s main export partners are Germany, the Czech Republic and Poland while its main import partners are Germany, the Czech Republic and Russia.




Year of EU entry: 2004

Capital: Bratislava

Geographical size: 49 036 km2

Population: 5 404 322

Currency: Member of the eurozone since 2009 (€)

Schengen area: Member of the Schengen area since 2007

Facebook YouTube Google Translate Google Maps