Choose your language



Situated in southern Central Europe, Slovenia borders Italy to the west, Austria to the north, Croatia to the south and southeast, and Hungary to the northeast. The north of the country is dominated by the Alps, while in the southwest, the Karst Plateau is a region filled with limestone caves and gorges. Slovenia has a coastline of 46,6 km by the Adriatic Sea between Italy and Croatia.

The most important sectors of Slovenia’s economy in 2012 were industry (25.2 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (20.4 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (17.8 %).

Slovenia’s main export and import partners are Germany, Italy and Austria.




EU-Beitritt: 2004

Capital: Ljubljana

Geographical size: 20 273 km2

Population: 2 055 496

Currency: Member of the eurozone since 2007 (€)

Schengen area: Member of the Schengen area since 2007

Facebook YouTube Google Translate Google Maps