Choose your language



High plateaux and mountain ranges such as the Pyrenees and the Sierra Nevada dominate much of mainland Spain, which is on the Iberian Peninsula. To the north, the country is bordered by France and Andorra, and to the west by Portugal. Spain also includes the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea, the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean, and two autonomous exclaves in North Africa: Ceuta and Melilla.

The most important sectors of Spain’s economy in 2012 were wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (25.3 %), public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (18.1 %), and industry (17.4 %).

Spain’s main export and import partners are France, Germany and Italy.




Year of EU entry: 1986

Capital: Madrid

Geographical size: 505 990.7 km2

Population: 46 818 219

Currency: Member of the eurozone since 1999 (€)

Schengen area: Member of the Schengen area since 1991

Facebook YouTube Google Translate Google Maps